Amature Hour

creativedrinks

line

For the last nine months I have been contributing to Creative Drinks, a local brisbane blog that aims to connect creatives with other creatives. This has been an excellent opportunity, as I am able to express my passion for music and gain more literary experience.

I write about things that inspire me, artists and bands that I’m listening to at that particular time. I also write about wisdom I wish someone else had shared with me, or when that fails, I write about what’s going on in my head. I find writing is an excellent way to express myself and put all my thoughts onto paper.

Screen Shot 2013-10-09 at 1.07.04 PM

I have linked an album review of Rhye. I chose this piece because it showcases my journalist writing style as relaxed, light and cool, that of course being my preferred writing style. This article also shows that I can talk to talk. A big part of music journalism is being able to to understand and write in industry speak: and I believe this article shows my ability to know and understand music. The article is short and sweet, with a large headline and picture directly below, which should draw the attention of potential readers.

You can see an album review I did of Rhye here, and see my full portfolio at Creative Drinks here.

Leave a comment